In 1881 Charles Henry Mansfield owned and operated a general store and ship’s chandlery (specializing in supplies for various types of vessels) on Sawyer Square.
In 1887 Charles Henry Mansfield doubled the size of his building to open a furniture store. The building still stands as the Harbor House and is located beside the Jonesport Historical Society.
In 1899 Charles Henry Mansfield was in charge of the Western Union Telegraph office, which was located in his store. This photograph shows him in the office.